How long between drinks?

24 Jul

As I plow through my WIP I wonder how much sex I should include? How often should it happen, and should it be the main thrust of the book, or secondary to the story?

I’d like my book to be interesting as well as sexy, and I’d like my readers to care about the characters. I’d want it to be more than just one sexual encounter after the next… but that’s just me. Is that what other people want too?

I’ve read some stories (admittedly shorter works) where there is sex on page one that continues all the way to the end. Then there are others which build for the entire book and culminate in one massive coming together at the end. Both approaches were valid… but I think that if I want to earn my chops as an erotic romance author I need to dial up the sex a little.

In the end, as long as it makes sense for the characters and doesn’t end up feeling contrived, I think that is a good way to go.

What do you think?

One Response to “How long between drinks?”

  1. Kate Warren August 5, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    Hi Emily. I don’t really read erotic romance but you asked a great question and you deserve an answer. That answer is: find the balance that works best for you and go for it! You are right that if it works for the characters and feels genuine you’ll be fine. Write what feels right to you for each story, and that may be different for each one. Your best readers will find you and love your work. Rock what you’ve got.

Leave a Reply

