Six Sentence Sunday #2

22 Jul

Last week I enjoyed the Six Sunday experience so much I just had to come back for more. I see many of the participants have been doing this for years and I can definitely see why. I hope to join them.

I enjoyed the challenge of picking out six sentences from my current WIP to share with you all, and it was great to wander around the blogosphere to see what the other participants shared. I had no idea there were so many of us out there.

This week’s snippet is also from “Kissed By A Rose.” Candice has now gotten the job, and she’s turned up on her first day only to find that her boss doesn’t seem to like her very much. This conversation happens soon after the two of them meet. Kendra, her boss, made Candice wait six hours before finally bothering to see her.


“So this was all some kind of test?” Candice said.
“The first of many.”
“Have I offended you in some way?”
“Look at you sitting there, young, naïve, and ignorant. Probably fresh off the bus from Hicksville with dreams of making it in the big city.”
“I grew up in Boston, and moved to New York for college three years ago; you know nothing about me.”


Thank you so much for stopping by, and please be sure to check out all the other amazing contributors by clicking on the banner below.

8 Responses to “Six Sentence Sunday #2”

  1. maddiecochere July 23, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    I’ve been in massive editing mode and missed Six Sentence Sunday this week, but wanted to see if Candice got the job. 🙂 There’s some definite tension this week! Can’t wait to find out more.

    • emilysfletcher July 23, 2012 at 7:29 am #

      Thank you for coming by to see that. It makes me feel special. I appreciate it

  2. Patricia Preston July 23, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    Glad she stood up for herself! Welcome to SSS.

  3. veronicascott July 23, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    Candice is clearly a strong woman, which I liked – excellent excerpt! Can’t wait to see what happens next…

    • emilysfletcher July 23, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      Thank you. Even though she’s only just started sometimes its important to demonstrate that you can stand up for yourself. Thanks again for taking the time to comment.

  4. Maryellen Brady July 23, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    I love strong characters!! great six…

    • emilysfletcher July 23, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      There are a few more challenges ahead for Candice. She’s going to need that strength soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

